Monday, March 5, 2012

WOMEN: 2012 Courage in Journalism Awards

The International Women's Media Foundation
2012 Courage in Journalism Awards and Lifetime Achievement Award

By seeking to know these courageous women in journalism, the International Women’s Media Foundation has launched once again its search for its 2012 Courage in Journalism Awards and Lifetime Achievement Award. Each year, the Courage in Journalism Awards honor three women journalists who have demonstrated extraordinary strength of character in pursuing their profession under difficult or dangerous circumstances, such as government oppression, threats to personal safety and other intimidating obstacles.

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a woman journalist who has a pioneering spirit and whose determination has paved the way for future generations of women in the media.

Previous Courage in Journalism Award winners include Adela Navarro Bello, Zeta, Mexico; Tsering Woeser, blogger and writer, Tibet; Jill Carroll, The Christian Science Monitor, United States; May Chidiac, Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation, Lebanon; Anna Politkovskaya, Novaya Gazeta, Russia (d. 2006); Anja Niedringhaus, Associated Press, Germany and Shahla Sherkat, Zanan, Iran.

Previous Lifetime Achievement Award winners include Kate Adie, BBC News, Untied Kingdom; Molly Ivins, syndicated columnist, United States; Barbara Walters, ABC News, United States and Magdalena Ruiz, Radio Mitre, Argentina.

Nominations for the 2012 awards are closed now.

For further information about the awards and to learn how to nominate a journalist, visit the IWMF website at

Founded in 1990, the mission of the International Women’s Media Foundation is to strengthen the role of women in the news media worldwide. The IWMF network includes women and men in the media in more than 130 countries worldwide. For more information, visit

No comments:

Post a Comment